Santa Fe Springs Chamber Youth Enrichment Fund

Overview

The Santa Fe Springs Chamber of Commerce is proud of its youth and education programs. Although Santa Fe Springs is primarily an industrial city, the resident youth population benefits from a dedicated Chamber of Commerce and City that pride themselves on their commitment to education. The Choices program, the Destiny Scholarship program, mentoring, Future Business Leaders...these programs and more create a steady stream of involvement in our youth's lives.

For more information about these programs, please contact the Santa Fe Springs Chamber of Commerce at (562) 944-1616 or E-mail our Youth Services Coordinator.

 

2017-2018 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Daniel J. McMillan
YEF President

Stifel
Gateway Plaza
300 North Lake Avenue, Ste. 900
Pasadena, CA 91101

(626) 564-6808
mcmilland@stifel.com

Sharon Wu
Chamber President

Roquemore, Pringle & Moore, Inc.
6055 E. Washington Blvd., Ste. 500 Commerce, CA 90040

(323) 724-3117 x306
swu@rpmlaw.com

Patricia Kotze
Chamber President-Elect

Diversified Risk Management, Inc.
9845 Painter Ave., Unit B
Whittier, CA 90605

(562) 319-0411
pkotze@drminc.us

Mike Foley
V.P. Public Affairs

Cushman & Wakefield of California, Inc.
970 W. 190TH Street, Suite 550 Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 525-1920 (direct)
mike.foley@cushwake.com

Debbie Baker
V.P. Member Services

Simpson Advertising, Inc.
PO Box 2464
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 949-9780 x2
debbie@simpsonadvertisinginc.com

Lisa Boyajian
V.P. Youth Enrichment Fund

Ansa Insurance Services
1370 Brea Blvd., Suite 100
Fullerton, CA 92835

(714) 680-5900
ansainsuranceservices@yahoo.com

Liz Buckingham
Treasurer

Friendly Hills Bank
12070 Telegraph Road Ste 100
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 236-8888
lbuckingham@friendlyhillsbank.com

Kathie Fink
Chief Executive Officer

SFS Chamber of Commerce
12016 E. Telegraph Rd. Ste. 100 Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 944-1616 x105
fink@sfschamber.com

Directors

Darryl Blunk
Apffels Coffee

12115 Pacific St
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670-0505

(562) 309-0447
darryl@apffels.com

Larry Clanton
Cosby Oil Company, Inc.

12902 Park Street
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 946-4404 x201
larry_clanton@cosbyoil.com

Susan Crowell
HealthFirst Medical Group

13440 E. Imperial Hwy
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 926-3440
susan.crowell@healthfirstmedical.net

Jim Cusick
Shaw Diversified Services, Inc.

15305 Valley View Ave
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670-5799

(562) 921-7209
jim.cusick@shawinc.com

Paul Hesse
Penta Pacific Properties

9500 Norwalk Blvd
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 699-1922
paul@pentapacific.com

Joanne Klemm
Comet Employment Agency

14831 Whittier Blvd., Ste. 101 Whittier, CA 90605

(562) 945-3081
joanne@cometemployment.com

Fred Latham
Retired City Manager

Fred10949@aol.com

Wendy Meador
Tangram Interiors

9200 Sorensen Ave
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 365-5322 (direct)
wmeador@tangraminteriors.com

Curtis Mello

maxmello@sbcglobal.net

William Rounds
Mayor Pro-Tem, City of Santa Fe Springs

11710 Telegraph Road
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 868-0511
williamrounds@santafesprings.org

Moshe Sassover
Golden Springs Development Co.

13116 Imperial Hwy
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 921-3581
sassover@thriftyoil.com

Bill Struett
Triangle Distributing Co.

12065 Pike St
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 463-2642
bstruett@triangle-dist.com

Tom Summerfield
Cascade Pump Company

10107 Norwalk Blvd
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

(562) 946-1414
tsummerfield@geminisproperty.com

Jeff Winkler
BreitBurn Energy

515 S. Flower St., Ste.4800
Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 225-5900 x 222
jwinkler@breitburn.com

The Santa Fe Springs Chamber Youth Enrichment Fund is Dedicated to Providing Programs for the Youth of Santa Fe Springs.

Destiny Scholarship

The mission of the scholarship is to provide an opportunity to change a student’s direction in life, or their “destiny”. To date, we have awarded $475,000 and changed the destiny of 25 students.

Powell Grant

A $2,500 scholarship is awarded annually to recognize talented students who are actively pursuing careers in the Arts.
Awards have been granted to students studying music, writing,
graphic design, poetry, art, theater and film.

Mentor Program

Through activities such as Job Shadow Day, College Visits, and Business Breakfasts, students gain experience and are exposed to reliable role models in professional environments while developing interpersonal skills learning about life and business. Over 1,500 students have benefited from this invaluable program.

CHOICES®

®Trained Chamber Members have made classroom visits to 1,200 freshman students yearly since 2000. Students learn the importance of their academic and personal decisions and the impact these “choices” will make on their future career options.

Future Business Leader

This student leadership business training program enriches the student’s transition into the business world and encourages involvement after graduation.

Youth Education Commitee

Educators and Business People from the community meet once a month and work on projects to enhance education and student’s transition into the working world through essay contests, poster contests, panel discussions, assemblies and company tours.

 

Thanks to Our Generous Sponsors

Rhodes Scholar Sponsor
Anonymous
4th District L.A. County Supervisor Janice Hahn
Golden Springs Development Company
Triangle Distributing Company
Doctorate Sponsor
City of Santa Fe Springs
HealthFirst Medical Group
PIH Health
Tangram Interiors
Graduate Sponsor
Agri-Turf Distributing, LLC
Air Products
Bless Tire Inc.
Comet Employment Agency
Baker Commodities Inc.
Coory Engineering
CR&R Waste & Recycling Services
E. Jordan Brookes Co., Inc.
UTC Aerospace System
Kevin & Lisa Waston
Republic Services
Simpson Advertising, Inc.
Ph.D.
Bumble Bee Foods
City of Santa Fe Springs
Cosby Oil Company
Michael & Denise Foley
Golden Springs Development Company
HealthFirst Medical Group
HERAEUS
HTS Environmental Services
Linda & Fred Latham
McKesson
PDQ Rentals
Phibro-Tech
PIH Health
Rotary Club of Santa Fe
Springs
Santa Fe Springs Swap Meet
Solaris Paper, Inc.
Tom and Pam Summer2eld
Tangram Interiors
Masters Sponsor
Bicycle Hotel & Casino
BreitBurn
Serv-Wel Disposal & Recycling
Stifel - Daniel J. McMillan
Whittier Union High School District